Connect with us

Cleantech

The Himiway Escape Electric Bike — CleanTechnica Review

Published

on

The Himiway Escape is a moped-style e-bike with a fixed-height seat and dual suspension. It was designed to make it easy for riders at all levels of fitness to get around on an electric bike, and after spending a few weeks riding around town on it, we wholeheartedly agree.

First and foremost, the Escape is designed as a moped-style bike. That starts with an extremely durable full suspension frame with a motorcycle style fixed seat. The design makes it super easy to simply hop onto the bike and throttle away to your destination. A small rack sticks out from behind the single passenger seat, giving owners the option to add a seat extension for a second passenger, a basket, or some panniers.

Himiway Escape Electric Bike

Himiway offers a wide range of accessories for its bikes that make it easy to kit it out for delivery, commuting, or just everyday play right from the factory. We loved how easy it was to just hop onto the Escape and get out on the town. Rides to the park with the family were a breeze and a joy. It is truly a workhorse of an e-bike with an extremely low barrier of entry.

The 750-watt rear hub motor packed plenty of power to haul us and our gear around, and the Escape was built to work. With a carrying capacity of 330 pounds, it was able to comfortably carry my wife and I around town. It might not sound like much, but the ability to quickly hop onto a bike as a couple makes it easy to run out to pickup groceries, grab coffee, or visit the library.

Himiway Escape Electric Bike

And really, that’s just about the best thing any electric vehicle can do to electrify transit: make it easy to electrify as many miles as possible. Tossing a basket or cargo bag onto the rear rack transforms the Escape into a not so lean, green gear-hauling machine. It’s the perfect setup to run down to the store for enough groceries for dinner or for a week.

In our testing, the Escape held up well on the range front, easily hauling me around for 25 miles per charge with zero assistance from my feeble legs. Cranking up my contribution to the procession, I was able to hit those same 25 miles with about half the battery remaining. Scaling my experience up, the Escape is on track for the ~45 miles per charge Himiway estimates and that’s a very healthy amount of range to cover most daily commutes.

Himiway Escape Electric Bike

As a 6’2″, 200-pound man, I found the Escape an extremely comfortable bike to cruise around town on, but not so great to pedal on. It’s a lot like the three little bears. It might be just right for a few people, but it’s going to be a bit too tall or a bit too short for folks on either end of the ideal height. I did love how the BMX-style cruiser bars gave the bike a wide range of adjustment for the handlebar height and front to back position.

We found it most comfortable to use the pedals to get the bike moving and quickly follow up with a burst of throttle to get everything moving. It’s deceivingly easy to ride and we had to constantly keep reminding ourselves just how easy it was to get up to 20 mph. Safety first, my friends.

Himiway Escape Electric Bike

The Escape comes with a set of integrated front and rear LED lights to improve the safety of riding at all hours of the day. The rear light is nice and bright and the dual beam front headlight is the brightest and most illuminating e-bike headlight we’ve seen.

On the comfort side of things, the Escape boasts a fixed-height seat that makes cruising around town on the throttle a breeze. The oversized 20″ x 4″ tires absorb most of the smaller bumps in the road, with the dual front and rear suspension working together to mitigate larger hits. The result is an extremely comfortable ride that makes it a fun bike to ride whether you’re pedaling or not.

Himiway Escape Electric Bike

When it comes time to slow down, the Escape is equipped with a set of front and rear hydraulic brakes that provide a reassuring amount of grip on the 180mm rotors.

Overall, the Himiway Escape offers up an impressive amount of functionality for its $1,699 price tag. Most moped-style electric bikes with this much capability are pushing the $2,000 price tag, but Himiway manages to pack a comparable amount of bike in at a much more attractive price point.

For all the juicy details about the Himiway Escape or to order one, head over to its online home.

Himiway Escape Electric Bike Specs

  • Motor: 750 watt brushless rear hub motor
  • Battery: 48 v, 14 Ah, 672 Wh removable frame-integrated battery
  • Range: 45+ mi per charge
  • Assist: 5 levels of pedal assist + right-mounted twist throttle
  • Charging Time: 6-7 hours
  • Frame Material: 6061 Aluminum
  • Lighting: Integrated front and rear LED headlights
  • Tires: 20″ x 4″ Kenda fat tires
  • Brakes: Front and rear 180mm hydraulic disc brakes
  • Gearing: 7 speed Shimano Altus-based system w/14-28 tooth rear cassette
  • Weight Capacity: 330 lb
  • Weight: 92 lb
  • Price: $1,699

Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica Member, Supporter, Technician, or Ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.


 



 


Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

Coinsmart. Beste Bitcoin-Börse in Europa
Source: https://cleantechnica.com/2021/06/17/the-himiway-escape-electric-bike-cleantechnica-review/

Cleantech

Jobs In Renewable Energy Fared Better Than Other Sectors In 2020

Published

on

Employment in renewable energy and battery-related sectors was far more resilient to the shock of the novel coronavirus pandemic, according to an annual DOE report released Monday.

Overall, one in 10 U.S. energy workers lost their jobs in 2020, with oil and gas workers hit hardest despite billions in bailouts and substantial payouts to executives.

Wind energy employment grew by nearly 2%. Jobs in the electric and hybrid-electric vehicle sectors grew by 8% and 6% respectively, and battery storage jobs also increased.

“While we do have work to do to make our energy sector more robust, we also have a lot of work to do in making our energy sector look like America and to make sure that these new clean energy jobs are paying family-sustaining wages, with good benefits and union membership,” DOE Secretary Jennifer Granholm said during a virtual report release.

Sources: ReutersThe Hill

This is a quick news brief from Nexus Media.


Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica Member, Supporter, Technician, or Ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.


 



 


Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Intelligence Amplified.
Click here to access.

Source: https://cleantechnica.com/2021/07/21/jobs-in-renewable-energy-fared-better-than-other-sectors-in-2020/

Continue Reading

Cleantech

Jobs In Renewable Energy Fared Better Than Other Sectors In 2020

Published

on

Employment in renewable energy and battery-related sectors was far more resilient to the shock of the novel coronavirus pandemic, according to an annual DOE report released Monday.

Overall, one in 10 U.S. energy workers lost their jobs in 2020, with oil and gas workers hit hardest despite billions in bailouts and substantial payouts to executives.

Wind energy employment grew by nearly 2%. Jobs in the electric and hybrid-electric vehicle sectors grew by 8% and 6% respectively, and battery storage jobs also increased.

“While we do have work to do to make our energy sector more robust, we also have a lot of work to do in making our energy sector look like America and to make sure that these new clean energy jobs are paying family-sustaining wages, with good benefits and union membership,” DOE Secretary Jennifer Granholm said during a virtual report release.

Sources: ReutersThe Hill

This is a quick news brief from Nexus Media.


Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica Member, Supporter, Technician, or Ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.


 



 


Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Intelligence Amplified.
Click here to access.

Source: https://cleantechnica.com/2021/07/21/jobs-in-renewable-energy-fared-better-than-other-sectors-in-2020/

Continue Reading

Cleantech

EU’s Proposed Green Deal Is A Big Victory For Fossil Fuel Companies

Published

on

On the 14th of July 2021, the EU Commission published its proposal for dealing with the climate crises and biodiversity crises, using money made available to counter the economic effects of the coronavirus pandemic.

The mix of climate crises, biodiversity crises, and economic recovery makes this packet something where many people find bits to be happy about and many people find bits not to be happy about.

  • The economic recovery is high priority, very short term.
  • The climate crises is ultimate priority, very short term.
  • The biodiversity is medium priority, medium to long term.

With that last classification, many people will get very angry. But it is a task that will take our attention for the coming centuries. Getting one or two years delayed in formulating policies, writing laws, and reaching consensus is not the biggest problem. The realization that we should start doing it, that we should keep doing it for as long as we are the custodians of life on Earth, that is the hardest part. It is something that can not be, even a tiny little bit for your special case, sacrificed for convenience or financial gain.

The second classification about climate change is even harder to understand for most people. Species are disappearing today, to be never seen again. The climate is something that will last centuries from now. How can it have a higher priority?

Catastrophic climate change is already happening today. It is killing people in heatwaves and floods today — literally, today. If we do not succeed to halt the growth of the greenhouse gas layer in this decade for the most part, mopping up the rest of the pollution sources in the next decade, biodiversity does not matter anymore. We will likely go to an Earth with a completely different biotope, one where there is no place for mammals.

Without mammals in the mix, there will be room for many thousands, if not millions, of new species on earth. Biodiversity will be saved, but not as we envision it today.

Economic recovery is always a very short-term action. For the economic problems caused by the coronavirus measures, immediate relief is needed. Companies should not go broke and people should not get unemployed because of what is essentially a natural disaster.

That the money for the economic recovery is used to accelerate the necessary transition to a clean/green economy is logical. Why spend money to rebuild what we were planning to demolish. I mean, the fossil fuel–based economy has to go. No reason to waste money in preserving it.

Logical, but not what many stakeholders of the fossil industry would like to see. They have dreams of transitioning the economy to greener fossil fuels. The previous attempt to switch to clean diesel failed, but that is not a reason to give up and go find a new career. There is still the fuel of the future, hydrogen. It is preferably made from natural gas (preferably for them, not for us), and in the long run with electricity from nuclear reactors, through a future electrolysis process.

Convincing policymakers that hydrogen (green in the future) is essential for road transport will delay the growth of battery electric vehicles — those pesky toys that do so much harm to the automotive industry and can drive on electricity from the solar cells on one’s roof.

These goals in the EU Green Deal proposal — not nearly large enough (“fossil fuel friendly,” you might say) — are:

  • A 600kW station every 60 kilometers along European highways for light vehicles by 2030 (2*150kW by 2025 and 4*150kW by 2030).
  • A 3500kW station every 60 kilometers along European highways for medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicles in 2030 (perhaps 5*700kW?).
  • A hydrogen station every 150 kilometers for ???????.

Currently, the fastest charging is at 175 kW or 250 kW for 350V–400V batteries. Double that for 800V batteries. A two-plug 150kW each station every 60 kilometers is probably sufficient in Northern Sweden and Lapland. Between 2025 and 2030, the number of BEVs on the roads will multiply by four (increase by 300%) at least. I expect Tesla alone to offer more stations with more plugs long before 2030.

Trucks have charging at their home depot, or are long-haul trucks charging on the road? (Okay, this is a bit simplified.) The Tesla Semi uses about 1.25 kWh/km. The charge time of the truck can be booked as the mandatory rest time of the driver. The 1 MW or 1.2 MW chargers that are now discussed are a reflection of this reality.

Truckers like to combine their rest time with their lunch or dinner break. This creates high demand for many plugs around these times with low demand during normal trucking times. Logistics is a commercial business. It will create the needed charging infrastructure via demand and supply. Selling electricity and a warm meal is the name of the game.

Local governments need to be prepared to facilitate the permitting process and plan the grid connections. Each station (both for light-duty vehicles and medium-/heavy-duty vehicles) should be planned for a 2MW–8MW connection or more. Building the transport line between the charging station and the existing grid is very expensive.

For the chargers, the most important metric is missing. That is the number of plugs needed at each station. For this, an analysis of the traffic volumes on the European roads is needed. It would show that many roads will need a charging station every 30 kilometers with 8 to 20 plugs.

In Europe, many have free travel in their company cars. Company cars are new, and after 2025, likely all electric. While the complete European car fleet will likely take 20+ years to replace, the fleet traveling on highways will be replaced in about 6 years. Due to less range, a BEV will charge more often than a fossil fuel vehicle makes a tank stop, at least twice as often. It will also keep a charging space longer occupied than a gas pump will be occupied — for ease of computation, double the time.

By 2030, at least half the fleet on the highways will be BEV. That means that half the gas pumps have to be replaced by four times that number of charging plugs. We have an awful lot more than four gas pumps every 60 kilometers of highway. The European Automobile Industry (ACEA) has even explained that the progress in selling BEVs is limited by the buildout of the infrastructure on the ground. When the EU comes with an ambitious plan for the car market, an even more ambitious infrastructure plan should accompany it to make it reality.

The fossil fuel industry will be very grateful for this ridiculous lowball number for highway charging stations. There will never be enough plugs for the yearly mass migrations to the sun and the snow. But that is only about 6 weekends each year. It is like the airlines never having enough seats for Thanksgiving weekend in the USA. Sizing to the exception is impossible, but we can aim to have enough in the rest of the year.

There is NO metric for the hydrogen station. Probably the lobbyists know that there won’t be customers. It is only about getting subsidies for the uneconomical stations and slowing the transition to fully electric ones. It is just a distraction. The well-to-wheel energy need is too clear a case to expect any hydrogen ever playing a role in road transport.

There are a number of lofty goals for hydrogen production. It should get at volume soon, and 50% of the green hydrogen should be renewable by 2030. Makes one think — what is non-renewable green hydrogen? I can only think of hydrogen fused into helium as not renewable. That would liberate a lot of energy, by the way.

Photo by Cynthia Shahan, CleanTechnica

Another way of temporizing what the market is doing is setting goals for public chargers that are too low. These are mostly Level 2 chargers for people without home charging.

  • 2025 – 1 million
  • 2030 – 3.5 million
  • 2040 – 11.4 million
  • 2050 – 16.3 million

Either those civil servants in Brussel are math-illiterate, or they think we are. The total for the EU in 2025 is just twice what the home country of the main writers of the deal plan to build by that year. The 2030 number is about three times the number in their home country. These math-illiterate people are Commissioner Timmermans and his chief-of-staff Samson, both Dutch.

Before he became chief-of-staff, Samson was one of the authors of the Dutch Klimaatakkoord, where the numbers of Dutch planned chargers can be found.

The EU is over 25 times the population of the Netherlands, and many more times the size. The Dutch numbers are from before the more ambitious goals and the rise in BEV sales in the last two years. In another article, I discussed why they are too low. With over a million chargers for the Netherlands alone in 2030, there is only a goal of 2.5 million chargers for the rest of the EU.  … Somebody is math challenged, and it ain’t me. In my very humble and biased opinion, that number needs an extra zero. And then some.

While greenwashing their actions, the EU commission is applying the brakes at full force. The fossil fuel lobby was successful.


Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica Member, Supporter, Technician, or Ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.


 



 


Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Intelligence Amplified.
Click here to access.

Source: https://cleantechnica.com/2021/07/21/eus-proposed-green-deal-is-a-big-victory-for-fossil-fuel-companies/

Continue Reading

Cleantech

What Will Happen To Old ICE Vehicles In The Electric Era?

Published

on

David Waterworth

“Disabled & Elderly Parking Only.” That’s what the sign said, so he parked his ICE Corolla there. We saw the vehicle as we exited the restaurant and walked towards where we had parked our Tesla. When I pointed it out to my friend, he said, “In 20 years they’ll be using that car for a chook pen.”

Image by David Waterworth

I thought that was a little unfair, as one of my neighbours has an older Corolla (and 2 others the same model in the backyard for spares). They are certainly a great little car and have been a phenomenal success for Toyota. But so was the Morris Minor for British Motors Corporation and the Torana for General Motors Holden and the Cortina for Ford. 

Image by David Waterworth

The conversation continued around car clubs and the future of ICE vehicles for enthusiasts and hobbyists. Would they become quaint curiosities to be gawked at in special auto shows? Perhaps they would feature in car museums. While everyone else is driving normal cars (those that have electric motors, that don’t make a lot of noise or produce noxious smells), these could be taken out on weekends to drive in convoys for the nostalgic.

Or will it be smash-up derbies as was done to the old British cars of the ’60s – the Austins, Morrises, and Wolseleys were driven round the track and smashed into each other for fun and entertainment. 

When the age of horse power came to an end, many animals were kept as pets or out of kindness and duty. Unfortunately, most were slaughtered and eaten (yes, eaten). As the age of ICE vehicles comes to an end, we may have to give thought about what to do with the faithful Corollas that we will have to let go. There is a limit to how many we can keep as pets. And we can’t eat them. 

David Waterworth is a retired teacher who divides his time between looking after his grandchildren and trying to make sure they have a planet to live on. He owns 50 shares of Tesla.


Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica Member, Supporter, Technician, or Ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.


 



 


Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Intelligence Amplified.
Click here to access.

Source: https://cleantechnica.com/2021/07/21/what-will-happen-to-old-ice-vehicles-in-the-electric-era/

Continue Reading
Esports3 days ago

How to reduce lag and increase FPS in Pokémon Unite

Esports3 days ago

Coven skins for Ashe, Evelynn, Ahri, Malphite, Warwick, Cassiopeia revealed for League of Legends

Esports3 days ago

Will New World closed beta progress carry over to the game’s full release?

Aviation4 days ago

And Here’s Yet Another Image Of Russia’s New Fighter Concept That Will Be Officially Unveiled Tomorrow

Esports3 days ago

Can you sprint in New World?

Esports3 days ago

How to add friends and party up in New World

Esports3 days ago

How to claim New World Twitch drops

AR/VR3 days ago

Moth+Flame partners with US Air Force to launch Virtual Reality sexual assault prevention and response training

Esports4 days ago

How to complete FUTTIES Alessandrini’s objectives in FIFA 21 Ultimate Team

Esports3 days ago

Twitch streamer gets banned in New World after milking cow

Aerospace4 days ago

Boeing crew capsule mounted on Atlas 5 rocket for unpiloted test flight

Esports4 days ago

Everything we know about Seer in Apex Legends

HRTech5 days ago

Walmart to pay $125 mn in disability discrimination case?

Esports4 days ago

What Time Does League of Legends Patch 11.15 Go Live?

Esports4 days ago

Evil Geniuses top laner Impact breaks all-time LCS early-game gold record in win over Dignitas

Blockchain4 days ago

Rothschild Investment Purchases Grayscale Bitcoin and Ethereum Trusts Shares

HRTech5 days ago

TCS is UK’s leading software/IT services firm and recruiter

Blockchain4 days ago

Uniswap (UNI) and AAVE Technical Analysis: What to Expect?

Gaming5 days ago

Pokémon UNITE – 13 Things You Need To Know

Blockchain2 days ago

BNY Mellon Joins State Street Into Crypto Trading, Backs Pure Digital Trading Platform

Trending